---
title: Downgrade or cancel New Relic
source: https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/accounts/accounts-billing/account-setup/downgradecancel-account
---

Depending on your pricing edition and other factors, we offer various options for reducing data ingest, deleting or uninstalling an agent or integration, or downgrading or cancelling your [New Relic organization](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/accounts/accounts-billing/new-relic-one-pricing-users/new-relic-account-structure).

## Reduce or stop data ingest [#remove-tools]

If you want to stop reporting some data to New Relic without downgrading or cancelling, you can configure our tools to send less data.

For how to manage data ingest, see [Manage your data](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/telemetry-data-platform/get-data-new-relic/manage-data/manage-your-data).

To uninstall agents or integrations, here are some recommended procedures:

-   [Remove APM, browser monitoring, and mobile monitoring apps](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/apm/new-relic-apm/maintenance/remove-applications-new-relic/)
-   [Remove infrastructure agent](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/infrastructure/install-infrastructure-agent/update-or-uninstall/uninstall-infrastructure-agent/)
-   For how to disable other New Relic tools, see their specific docs. You can [search New Relic solutions here](https://newrelic.com/instant-observability/).

## Downgrade your edition [#downgrading]

There are two options for downgrading your [edition](https://newrelic.com/pricing), depending on whether you're pay-as-you-go or not:

**Pay-as-you-go organizations**

To downgrade a Standard or Pro [pay-as-you-go](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/accounts/accounts-billing/new-relic-one-pricing-billing/new-relic-one-pricing-billing/#usage-plans) organization:

1.  From the [user menu](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/accounts/accounts-billing/general-account-settings/intro-account-settings), click **Manage your plan**.
2.  Click **Plans and pricing**.
3.  Under the **Free** pricing option, mouse over **Downgrade to free** and click the button that appears.
4.  On the window that appears, scroll to the bottom and enter a reason for cancellation.
5.  Click the box noting that you agree to the terms of service.
6.  Click **Submit.**

**Organizations with contracts**

If you have a Pro or Enterprise edition with [a long-term contract](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/accounts/accounts-billing/new-relic-one-pricing-billing/new-relic-one-pricing-billing/#usage-plans) and wish to downgrade, talk to your New Relic account representative.

## Cancel an account [#cancel-account]

> #### ⚠️ IMPORTANT
>
> You can't cancel the last remaining active account in your organization. To do this, see [Delete your organization](#delete-org), which automatically cancels the account.

If you have more than one account in your organization and don't want to close all of them, you can cancel one or more accounts while keeping your organization active.

> #### ⚠️ IMPORTANT
>
> If the account you're canceling is a parent account, canceling it may also cancel some or all sub-accounts beneath it depending on your account configuration. This action cannot be reversed from the UI.
>
> -   **To remove a single sub-account:** Cancel that specific account directly instead of its parent.
> -   **To close every account in your organization:** See [Delete your organization](#delete-org).
>
>     To view parent-child account relationships, use the NerdGraph API (see [Identifying Parent-Child Accounts](https://knowledge.newrelic.com/s/article/Identifying-Parent-Child-Accounts). If you have sub-accounts and are unsure how canceling the parent account will affect them, [file a support ticket](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/new-relic-solutions/solve-common-issues/find-help-get-support) before proceeding.

When you cancel an account:

-   It is disabled, but it's still present in your organization in **Accounts > Cancelled accounts**.
-   Users, groups, and custom roles remain, but access grants that are assigned to that cancelled account lose all connections to the account. You should also remove any access grant associated with this account, otherwise users may see errors when they try to view it.
-   Any API keys associated with a cancelled account become inactive and can't be reassigned to another account.
-   **Canceling a parent account**: Depending on your account and subscription configuration, canceling a parent account may also cancel some or all of its sub-accounts.
    -   If a sub-account is canceled as a result, it also experiences the same effects (disabled state, severed access grants, and inactive API keys).
    -   Any active trials on the parent expire, and the parent's subscription is canceled if the parent owns it.
-   **Canceling a sub-account**: Canceling a sub-account does not cancel its parent account or any sibling sub-accounts. The sub-account is detached from its parent and canceled individually.

### Who can cancel an account [#who-cancel]

To cancel an account you must be a user who is:

-   A full platform user.
-   In a group that has the Organization [administrative setting](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/accounts/accounts-billing/new-relic-one-user-management/user-management-concepts/#admin-settings).

### How to cancel an account [#how-to-cancel]

Make sure you're a user who can cancel an account, and then you can cancel an account through our UI or through our Nerdgraph API.

**Cancel an account:**

1.  To cancel an account through our UI:
    Navigate to **Administration** > **Access Management** > select the **Accounts Tab** > select the ellipsis to the right of the account you would like to cancel > select **cancel account**.

2.  To cancel an account through our NerdGraph API:
    See the NerdGraph [tutorial](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/apis/nerdgraph/examples/manage-accounts-nerdgraph).

## Delete your organization [#delete-org]

Besides cancelling individual accounts, you can also delete your entire New Relic organization. This takes some preparation, so review the steps below.

### Preparation for deleting an organization [#preparation-org-delete]

Before the **Delete organization** button appears, you must meet the following requirements. Some may require you to contact support first:

-   Your organization only has one active account. If your organization has more than one active account:
    -   Cancel additional accounts using our UI or [Nerdgraph API](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/apis/nerdgraph/examples/manage-accounts-nerdgraph) (see [Cancel an account](#cancel-account)).
    -   The last remaining active account will be your 'reporting account id' for your organization. This account will be automatically canceled when the organization is deleted.
-   Your organization must have only one user remaining.
    -   If you have more than one user, you can delete users via the [User management UI](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/accounts/accounts-billing/new-relic-one-user-management/user-management-ui-and-tasks/#delete-users) or via [Nerdgraph](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/apis/nerdgraph/examples/nerdgraph-manage-users/#delete-users).
-   Your organization only has one authentication domain.
    -   If your organization has more than one authentication domain, you can delete authentication domains [directly in the UI](https://support.newrelic.com/s/hubtopic/aAXPh0000006Wd7OAE/delete-authentication-domains) or [with Nerdgraph](https://support.newrelic.com/s/hubtopic/aAXPh000000664LOAQ/api-endpoint-to-delete-authentication-domains).
-   Your organization is on our newer pricing model.
    -   If you're not sure which model you're on, see [Pricing models](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/accounts/original-accounts-billing/original-product-based-pricing/overview-pricing-models/#determine-pricing) for how to determine that.
    -   If you're on the older pricing model, contact [support](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/using-new-relic/welcome-new-relic/get-started/find-help-use-support-portal).
-   Your organization must be on the Free edition.
    -   If you have an active paid subscription, see the [Downgrade your edition](#downgrading) section of this document.

### How to delete your organization [#how-to-delete-org]

After meeting the [requirements](#delete-org), follow these steps to access the Delete organization button:

1.  From the [user menu](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/accounts/accounts-billing/general-account-settings/intro-account-settings), click **Administration**.
2.  Click **Access management**.
3.  Click **Delete organization**. If you don't see that button, ensure you've met the requirements above. For additional help, contact [support](https://docs.newrelic.com/docs/using-new-relic/welcome-new-relic/get-started/find-help-use-support-portal).
